On Becoming Twenty Five

I turned 25 a week ago. And funnily enough that was also the time I realised that I haven’t been updating this space for almost a month now since my last post on May 30th.

Life has caught on. I’m finally 25.

It has been a blessed month while I was away from this space. It was Ramadhan (fasting month in the Islamic calendar) and a lot of my time was spent with my family and being fully present in performing my ibadah during the Ramadhan period. And no doubt, this year’s Ramadhan felt different – different from the past few years when fasting month always falls during the peak periods of either working or schooling life. I will come around to write more about my gap year Ramadhan’s experiences. You might asked,  “How different could it be”?

But today, I thought I revived back this space by sharing some thoughts and mindful realisations that I had after turning the golden age of 25.

  1. I felt no difference in turning 25
    You know how they say, “Age is just a number.” Well, it is true. Every birthday year since I turned 20 has always felt the same. Of course, there are days where I will hyperventilate when I lie down in bed and realised that I’m a legit full grown adult (who doesn’t?!). But there are also days where I feel blessed to still be receiving comments from strangers who always thought that I’m 18 (and the youngest number I’ve ever received is 16 years old).

    The secret ingredient in looking and feeling young – surround yourself with positive energy. 

    At the end of the day, we don’t  need assurance from others to make us feel good about ourself. I’ve been blessed with amazing family and friends who emits positive outlook and energy in life. And I believed that is the true reason why I’m always feeling young and positive at heart. Like what they say “Surround yourself with people that reflect who you want to be and how you want to feel. Energies are contagious.”

  2. Time is never enough and becomes more valuable
    I don’t know about everyone else, even though some of my older friends keep assuring me that “You’re only 25! Relax a little,” I feel that time is never enough and I’m not working hard enough for my Hereafter at this prime age. This feeling of time is never enough came about after I attended a religious talk a few months back and the Sheikh mentioned,

    “In the Hereafter, Allah will not only ask you about what you did with your time on Earth, but he will specifically ask you, what you did in your Youth.” 


    That statement has been ingrained in me ever since and it is a definitely a challenge to be able to manage our time well and spent it towards a true purpose. Its a paradox cycle where you feel like you are spending your time productively but that productive time is spend to fulfil your Nafs (نَفْس) – self, psyche ego or soul. And for that, I’m always guilty.

  3. Death becomes a conscious thought
    I think about Death all the time. I think about the times when Allah saved me from deadly situations that could end up in Death. I think about the hikmah behind all those saved situations. And I think about the deeds that I’ve done and have not done. Is it enough to save me in the Hereafter? Probably not.

    The Death thoughts are not just about me. But I thought of the day when death will happen to my parents, brother, close family, relatives and friends. How will I react to that day? But I believed talking and reflecting about Death is necessary. It reminded me that this world is temporary and to not get occupied with world affairs. Talking about Death should motivate you to work towards your Hereafter and not scares you.


  4. Experience over material wealth
    No doubt. This realisation holds true ever since I turned 20. Materials gave us temporary happiness but experiences gave us a lifetime box full of memories. And for me traveling has been my favourite gateway in gaining new perspectives and to be in awe with Allah’s creations.


    Jobs fill your pockets, but adventures fill your soul.

  5. When will I ever get married?
    This realisation is hilarious but it hit me when I turned 25 last week. When I was 16, I used to say that people who are 25 and not married yet are crazy – 25 should be the perfect age to get married, have kids by 27 and live happily ever after.Well look at me now.

    I’m 25 and barely near that marriage timeline yet. I know its getting real when people starts praying for me to meet my jodoh (soulmate) real soon and when my parents start asking me the golden question “When are you getting married.” I barely have any love interest right now and the only thought currently occupying my head is “Where is the next destination I’m traveling to?”

    But I believed Allah knows what’s best for me and the right person will come when we are both ready for marriage. At this point of time in my life, I’m always seeking for new experiences, adventures and for what is worth, my other half needs to be comfortable with that or rocking the same boat. My only prayers as of now is to have my parents witness me getting married while they are still strong. InshaAllah.



    screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-1-34-44-am

 

Leave a Reply

