36 hours in Kuala Lumpur

31st December – 2nd January

This year I spent New Year’s eve away from home with my closest friends in Kuala Lumpur (KL). The journey to KL begins with a 9:45PM flight from Singapore and as expected, we were counting down to 2017 while in transit from KLIA to the city as we casually talked about our future trip to India and admiring the celebratory fireworks out of the train windows. There is no better company I would have spent the night with.

It was our 3rd year spending new year together as we made a pact to do our annual trip beginning of the year ever since we got closer back in 2014. And till this day, it still amazed me how God has brought us together in an unexpected time that eventually got us closer to how we are right now.

This inspired me to create a new series in this blog called “36 hrs in (inserts destination).” Throughout my gap year, I might do a few impulse travels to different cities or countries within a 36 hours timeframe which adds up to about a 3D2N trip. Not mentioning the fact that there are so many route possibilities with cheap flights around!

I figured it will be interesting to either share the 5 main thoughts I had throughout the trip or to share more about the highlights of the trip within that 36 hours timeframe. And to start it off, here are my 5 main thoughts while in Kuala Lumpur this new year with an annoying bunch of friends:-

  1. Keep on being spontaneous
    I’m always known to be spontaneous and like how the Malay slang says “Ok go jer,” I’m the #okgojer kinda girl. This trip came about spontaneously and it was definitely a plus point to have my best friend and closest friends with me. Being spontaneous has always made me feel alive. It gives us a sense of adventure which personally for me, is an important element to a well balanced life. One tip that I could share in becoming a more spontaneous self – follow your gut feelings and just say yes when it feels right!
  2. Be grateful with what you have
    Even though this annoying bunch of friends annoy me in many funny ways possible throughout the trip, there were a few times I caught myself staring at their faces and feeling so grateful for their presence in my life. They taught me to always stay true to yourself and don’t let others bring you down – evident from the amount of things we all share comfortably and know about each other and yet we are still #overlyattached to one another.
  3. Acknowledge the important things in your life
    As we grow older, we naturally become more aware of the important things in our life. At the back of my head, I’ve always known that my religion, family, friends and a sense of adventure are the important things in my life. But somehow throughout the 2 years I was hustling, subconsciously I forgot about these important things in life and that got me feeling unsettled.
  4. Surround yourself with inspiring and good company
    While I was in KL, I caught up with a dear friend of mine Ee Lynn whom I met in a workshop organized in Jakarta by the YSEALI team back in Oct 2016. The conversation that we had over an amazing breakfast at Kenny Hills Bakers left me feeling inspired all over again. It reminds me of how I felt by the end of the workshop, and also the impactful moments throughout 2016 that led me to where I am right now. Like how the saying goes “You are who you surround yourself with.”

  5. Everyone you meet in your life, teaches you a lesson
    I believe that everything that happens in life, happened for a reason including the people that we met. And I felt that meeting this bunch of annoying friends, is one of the greatest blessings in life that God has bestowed on me. Alhamdulillah. 

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-1-34-44-am

 

Leave a Reply

