The day I told my parents I’m quitting my job

Yes I’ve quit my job and I’m already 29 days into my gap year as I wrote this piece.

Probably I should back track a little to give you guys some context to how this day finally happened – yes I used the word “finally” because I’ve thought about it for ages. I spent almost half a year thinking, rethinking, doubting myself before I took the leap and made the decision.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetWell for a start, do not get me wrong but I had a pretty cool job, awesome colleagues that became more than just colleagues, a community that inspires me every single day and a workplace that just felt like home – well who wouldn’t love it for all the free Ben & Jerry Ice Cream that a girl could ever eat.

For what seems like a year and a half, I was hustling right after graduation. I aspired to be a damn good life hustler and a bad ass one in some ways. But life caught on and earlier this year, I started to question about what exactly am I hustling for.

Months past and after what seems like a million deep conversations with my best friend, close friends and colleagues, I caved in and learnt to embrace my feelings more. I began to question every single emotion that I’m feeling and instead of letting it go, I took it deeper and ask myself why am I feeling this way. And throughout this journey, I constantly prayed to God to give me the guidance that I need to assure me of the decisions that I made.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

I prayed to God to give me a sign but he gave me signs that brought me out of the doubtful feeling I felt for half a year. And that my friends, eventually led me to the day I took up the courage to tell my boss that I’m leaving my job and 3 months later, finally telling my parents about it – which by the way, is a totally different story on its own on how my parents surprised me with their calm reactions.

For what its worth, here are the 4 things that I learnt throughout this decision making process that will hopefully benefit you guys too:-

  1. Self Care
    Embrace your feelings more and trust your gut feelings – biggest lesson of the year for me. Take pride in taking care of yourself first be it emotionally or physically before taking care of others. If you need to take a break, take a break. If you need to cry, you cry and don’t let anyone say you can’t because everyone experiences things differently from each other.
  2. Power of Intention
    Always remember why and what you are hustling for in life. Sometimes we get so caught up in life that we don’t realise that we are hustling for someone else’s goals and intention. When you are clear of your intentions, no challenge in life is difficult or confusing because you will become more open and sincere in overcoming it.
  3. Take Action
    Once you’ve made that decision and feel at peace with it, take action. Strive to be an efficient hustler and just go for it.
  4. Trust the Process
    In layman terms, go with the flow and have faith. Nobody knows how things will turn out to be if you don’t ever give it a try. Learn to let go and find comfort in the uncertainty because sometimes in times of uncertainty comes great adventure.

 فَإِذَاعَزَمْتَ فَتَوَكَّلْ عَلَى اللَّهِ ۚ إِنَّ اللَّهَ يُحِبُّ الْمُتَوَكِّلِينَ

And once you have taken a decision, place your trust in Allah. Surely, Allah loves those who place their trust in Him – Surah Al-Imran (3:159)

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-1-34-44-am

Leave a Reply

